Skip to Content

Physician Assistant (M.P.A.)


Physician assistant programs are primarily master's degree programs although a small number of bachelor's degree programs exist. At the graduate level, completion of a physician assistant program results in either a master of physician assistant studies (MPA) or a master of science in physician assistant studies (MS-PA) degree. Most PA programs are 2-2.5 years in length and involve a combination of course work and clinical experience. Some PA programs require students to conduct research as part of the curriculum. 
There are more than 230 accredited or provisionally accredited PA programs in the United States. These accredited PA programs are represented by the Physician Assistant Education Association (PAEA). The PAEA oversees CASPA. The vast majority of all accredited PA programs and a handful of developing programs participate in CASPA, including all of the Texas PA programs.
Texas has 11 universities that offer master's level PA programs. Below is a table listing the names of the Texas universities offering PA programs, the locations of these universities, and their Web sites.
Web site
Baylor College of Medicine
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Fort Worth

University of Texas Medical Branch
University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
San Antonio
Hardin-Simmons University Abilene

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Belton

University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences Austin
South University Austin