Skip to Content

Dentistry (D.D.S. or D.M.D)


Dental schools offer one of two degrees, the doctor of dental surgery (DDS) or the doctor of dental medicine (DMD) following four years of dental training. The two degrees are equivalent. As a general rule, the first two years of the dental school curriculum involve primarily course work, while the third and fourth years involve clinical rotations and training.
There are currently 66 accredited dental schools in the United States. These schools graduate more than 5,000 dental students each year. These accredited dental schools are represented by the American Dental Education Association (ADEA). The ADEA also oversees AADSAS. The DAT is overseen by the American Dental Association (ADA).  
Texas has four dental schools. Below is a table listing the names, locations and Web sites for the Texas dental schools.
Note! All dental school applicants will need to obtain a DENTPIN (Dental Personal Identifier Number) before they can take the DAT or apply to dental schools. Click here to link to the DENTPIN registration site.
Web site
Texas A&M University School of Dentistry
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Dentistry
UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry
San Antonio
Texas Tech University Health Science Center El Paso Woody L. Hunt School of Dental Medicine


El Paso


Return to list of professional programs.