Skip to Content

Chiropractic Medicine (D.C.)

Chiropractic schools offer the doctor of chiropractic (DC) degree following four years of medical training. As a general rule, the first two years of the chiropractic school curriculum involve primarily course work, while the third and fourth years involve clinical rotations and training.

Chiropractic medicine focuses on the relationship between the body's main structures – the skeleton, muscles and nerves – and the patient's health. Chiropractors believe that health can be improved and preserved by making adjustments to these structures, particularly to the spinal column. They do not prescribe drugs or perform surgical procedures, although they do refer patients for these services if they are medically indicated.
Most patients seek chiropractic care for back pain, neck pain and joint problems. However, many patients choose a chiropractor as their primary care doctor, because they prefer treatment plans that do not rely on medication or surgery.
There are currently 17 accredited chiropractic schools in the United States with a total of 19 campuses. These accredited chiropractic schools are represented by the Association of Chiropractic Colleges (ACC).  A centralized application service (ChiroCAS) is in development, but most schools encourage you to apply directly from their websites. 
Texas has two chiropractic schools. Below is a table listing the names, locations and Web sites for the Texas chiropractic schools.


Web site
Parker College of Chiropractic
Texas Chiropractic College