Skip to Content

Optometry (O.D.)

Optometry schools offer the doctor of optometry (OD) degree following four years of optometry training. As a general rule, the first two years of the optometry school curriculum involve primarily course work, while the third and fourth years involve clinical rotations and training.
There are currently 21 accredited optometry schools, 20 in the United States and one in Puerto Rico. These schools graduate more than 1,400 optometry students each year. These accredited optometry schools are represented by the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO). ASCO also oversees OptomCAS and the OAT.
Texas has two optometry schools. Below is a table listing the names, locations and Web sites for the Texas optometry schools.


Web site
University of Houston College of Optometry
University of the Incarnate Word School of Optometry
San Antonio