Skip to Content

Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.)


Osteopathic medical schools offer the doctor of osteopathic medicine (DO) degree following four years of medical training. As a general rule, the first two years of the medical school curriculum involve primarily course work, while the third and fourth years involve clinical rotations and training.
The primary difference between osteopathic medical schools and allopathic medical schools is the emphasis that osteopathic medical schools place on a holistic (whole person) approach to medicine and the use of a hands-on diagnosis and treatment method known as osteopathic manipulative medicine.
There are currently 34 accredited osteopathic medical schools in the United States that offer courses at 51 campuses in 32 states. These schools graduate nearly 8,000 medical students each year. These accredited osteopathic medical schools are represented by the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM). The AACOM also oversees AACOMAS. 
AACOM has compiled a set of resources for potential osteopathic medical school students. Click here to link to these resources.
Texas has three osteopathic medical schools. 
Web site
University of North Texas Health Science Center – Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Fort Worth

Sam Houston State University College of Osteopathic Medicine Conroe

University of Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine San Antonio