Skip to Content

Allopathic Medicine (M.D.)

Allopathic medical schools offer the doctor of medicine (MD) degree following four years of medical training. As a general rule, the first two years of the medical school curriculum involve primarily course work, while the third and fourth years involve clinical rotations and training.
There are more than 150 accredited allopathic medical schools in the United States. These schools graduate more than 20,000 medical students each year. These accredited allopathic medical schools are represented by the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC). The AAMC also oversees the MCAT and AMCAS. 
Texas has thirteen allopathic medical schools. Below is a table listing the names, locations and Web sites for the Texas allopathic medical schools.


Web site
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
University of Texas Medical Branch John Sealy School of Medicine
McGovern Medical School
Long School of Medicine
San Antonio
Texas A&M University Health Science Center, College of Medicine
College Station
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
El Paso
Baylor College of Medicine
University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School Austin
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine Edinburgh
Burnett School of Medicine at TCU Forth Worth
University of Houston College of Medicine Houston

University of Texas at Tyler Tyler